08 Jul The Grand Football Legacy of Italy

They may not have made it to the semi-final rounds in the World Cup this year, but Italy is still home to some of the fiercest soccer teams in the world. Check out our top 7 below.

Only one gold star?

Only one gold star?


7) A.C. Milan (Associazione Calcio Milan):

Founded in 1899 and referred to as “i Rossoneri (red-blacks),” Milan has accumulated more international trophies that any other club in the world with 18. Playing their matches at the San Siro (officially Stadio Giuseppe Meazza), Milan has boasted such worldly players as Paolo Maldini, Franco Baresi, Andrea Pirlo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Kaka.

6) Juventus F.C. (Juventus Football Club):

Established in 1897 and known as “I Bianconeri,” Juve has won more Italian League (Serie A) trophies than any other club with 29. Playing their matches at Juventus Stadium (Stadio Olimpico di Torino) in Torino, Juve has had its fair share of worldly players like Alessandro Del Piero, Michael Platini, Andrea Pirlo, Zinedine Zidane and David Trezeguet.

5) F.C. Internazionale Milano (Football Club Internazionale Milano):

Founded in 1908 and referred to as “I Nerazzurri,” Inter has won 18 league titles and UEFA Champions League three times. Sharing their 80,000 seat stadium, San Siro (Stadio Giuseppe Meazza), with their rivals AC Milan, Inter has fielded such worldly footballers as Samuel Eto’o, Luis Figo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Jurgen Klinsmann, Ronaldo and stadium namesake, Giuseppe Meazza.

Raised by wolves!

Raised by wolves!


4) A.S. Roma (Associazione Sportiva Roma):

Created after the National Fascist Party (Italo Foschi) merged three Roman football clubs in 1927, “I Giallorossi” has won the Coppa Italia nine times and plays in Italy’s second largest stadium, the Stadio Olimpico di Roma – which they share with in-town rivals Lazio. Roma has fielded such stars as Francesco Totti, Cafu and Agostino Di Bartolomei.

3) ACF Fiorentina (Associazione Calcio Firenze Fiorentina):

Established by local noble and Italo Foschi member, Luigi Ridolfi, in 1926, Fiorentina have won six Coppa Italia trophies. Known as “Viola,” because of their purple uniforms, the Tuscan club plays their matches at Stadio Artemio Franchi and has seen its share of such Florentine greats as Gabriel Batistuta, Roberto Baggio and Alberto Gilardino.

2) S.S. Lazio (Società Sportiva Lazio):

Founded in 1900 and referred to as “I Biancocelesti” (white and sky-blues), Lazio has won Italian League, Serie A, twice and the Coppa Italia six times. Lazio, like most sports clubs in Europe, isn’t simply a football club (though they’re known for football primarily) and participates in 40 sports disciplines – more than any other sports association in the world. Competing at the Stadio Olimpico in Roma, Lazio has fielded such greats as Alessandro Nesta, Paul Gascoigne, Silvio Piola and Christian Vieri

I'm pretty sure I see two infinity symbols. That's legit.

I’m pretty sure I see two infinity symbols. That’s legit.

1) S.S.C. Napoli (Società Sportiva Calcio Napoli):

Established in 1926 and known as Partenopei (derived from Greek Mythology), Napoli has won the Coppa Italia four times. Playing their matches in Stadio San Paolo in Naples, the world’s 15th richest football club has flown under the radar and boasted such greats as Diego Maradona, Edinson Cavani and Giuseppe Bruscolotti.

No Comments

Post A Comment